Monday, September 28, 2020

2019 NOGI Award Recipients Announced


The Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences (AUAS) recently announced the 2019 recipients of the prestigious NOGI Award.

The awardees include:

  • Brian Skerry (Arts)
  • Dr. Tom Neuman (Science)
  • Dr. Wallace Nichols (Environment)
  • Eric Hanauer (Sports/Education)
  • Jerry Greenberg (Distinguished Service)

AUAS President Dan Orr said:

“The NOGI Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the recreational diving world, recognizing individuals who have made significant career contributions to the sport, the industry and the world in the Arts, Sciences, Environment, Sports/Education and through Distinguished Service.”

The 2019 NOGI Awards will be presented November 14th at the NOGI Awards Gala in Orlando, Florida during DEMA Show.

For more info about AUAS, go to

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.