Industry Voting For Inaugural New ‘Wave Maker’ Award Winner

DEMA Show 2017

Earlier this year DEMA (Diving Equipment Marketing Association) announced a brand-new industry recognition award.

The DEMA ‘Wave Maker‘ award honors a dive professional who (a) has been working in our industry for five years or less, and (b) has made a significant contribution to the scuba diving industry during that time.

To be eligible for the award the nominee needs to be a DEMA Member, employed by DEMA business or own a DEMA-Member business.

In addition, the nominee also had to demonstrate that they had:

  • Contributed to DEMA’s Mission
  • Provided Business or Community Service
  • Contributed to Dive Industry Growth

DEMA has just announced the four inaugural honor finalists. Each finalist was asked to make a short video around the subject “I believe that the future of our dive industry lies in…”.

In alphabetical order, the finalists for the inaugural DEMA Wave Maker Award are:

Angela Cowan – National Association of Underwater Instructors

Angela speaks about working together to bring on the next generation.

Robert Currer – Patriots Scuba

Robert advocates that the power of the individual can change the world.

Karina Erickson – Ralph Erickson Education Foundation

Karina wants the diving industry to embrace technology and digital tools to interact with customers and promote diving.

Jessica Keller – National Park Service, Associate DEMA Member

Jessica believes in the powerful role that mentorship and educational outreach programmes play in engaging today’s youth.

If you are a DEMA member, please watch all four videos, then log onto the ‘Members Only‘ area of and cast your vote. Each vote is important and will make a difference to one of these finalists.

The deadline for voting is 12:00 pm Pacific Time on 26th October 2017.