Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeScuba DivingScuba Awards for Cayman

Scuba Awards for Cayman

Cayman Net News: 

Three well-known Caymanians will be honoured for their achievements and outstanding contributions to the sport of scuba diving on Thursday, 17 January at the Grand Cayman Beach Resort, when the industry gathers together for the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony.

Expert underwater photographer Cathy Church will be inducted into the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame along with five other dive pioneers, while Jim Dailey and Kem Jackson will receive Ministry of Tourism Local Honouree Awards at the event, which begins at 6:00 pm.

Every year, in addition to the international inductees, the Ministry of Tourism honours Caymanians and pays tribute to the invaluable role they have played in the process, which has transformed the local dive industry into the premier dive destination that it is today. Tourism Minister Hon Charles Clifford will present the award.

“All three individuals have contributed in very different ways to further the sport of diving in the Cayman Islands and internationally,” Mr Clifford said.

“Without their enthusiasm, entrepreneurship, expertise and passion, the dive industry would most certainly not be what it is today.”

Cathy Church, Robert “Bob” Halstead, Daniel Mercier, Drew Richardson and Ron “Rogest” Steven will join past inductees that include Bob Soto, Jacques Yves Cousteau, Dewey Bergman, John Cronin, Chuck Blakeslee and Lloyd Bridges.

Meanwhile, the International Underwater Film Festival takes place on Friday, 18 January.

Sara-Lise Haith
Sara-Lise Haith
Sara-Lise is the former News Editor for She is based in Dubai.