Thursday, October 1, 2020

Virtually Ride Along with NOAA for A Historic Pearl Harbor Exploration

-

On Wednesday December 7, two offices from the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration are teaming up to use an ROV to explore the wreck site of the sub that fired the shots that ushered the USA into World War II on the Pacific front — and you can be in on it!

At 6:30 HST (8:30 a.m. PST, 11:30 a.m. EST) anyone with a web connection can watch history unfold via live webcast. Join James Delgado, Brian Kennedy, Frank Cantelas, and Hans Van Tilburg on NOAA Ship Okeanos Explorer as they survey two Japanese minisubs near Pearl Harbor.

One of the two subs fired on the USS Ward, a destroyer that stoically returned fire over an hour before the more well-documented air attacks.

Get a first look at the condition of the wreck site after 75 years at the bottom of the Pacific.

For front-row seats to this historic exploration, check out the NOAA website at oceanexplorer.noaa.gov.

Erin Durbin-Sherer
Erin Durbin-Shererhttps://www.deeperblue.com
Erin began diving in 2012 as preparation for a trip to Hawaii and before the year was out she'd left her old life behind to work in the dive industry full-time. When she's not out exploring the deep and collecting c-cards, you might find her making art or working on her master's thesis in cultural anthropology at San Diego State University. Erin is an Associate Editor with DeeperBlue.com.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

CONNECT WITH US

300,271FansLike
69,681FollowersFollow
2,511FollowersFollow
20,631FollowersFollow
25,260FollowersFollow