Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeUnderwater ImagingWinners Of The 2018 Underwater Photograpahy Contest Have Been Announced

Winners Of The 2018 Underwater Photograpahy Contest Have Been Announced has announced the winners of the 2018 Underwater Photography Contest.

The competition is large with multiple categories, as well as an overall winner. Winners for the 2018 competition are as follows:

2018 World Champion: Alejandro Topete

Grand Master: Mehemet Salih Bilal

Topside: above water but marine related

  • Gold Medal: Susannah H. Snowden-Smith (Cayman islands)
  • Silver Medal: Stefan Follows (Thailand)

Over/Under shots:

  • Gold Medal: Greg Fleurentin (French Polynesia)
  • Silver Medal: Marco Caraceni (Italy)
  • Bronze Medal: Suzan Meldonian (United States)

Macro Non-Swimming:

  • Gold Medal: Jinggong Zhang (China)
  • Silver Medal: John Roach (United States)
  • Bronze Medal: Iyad Suleyman (Ukraine)
  • Runner Up: Deniz Muzaffer Gökmen (Turkey)/ Chun Zhou (China)

Macro Swimming:

  • Gold Medal: Wayne Jones (Australia)
  • Silver Medal: Lilian Koh (Singapore)
  • Bronze Medal: Rudy Janssen (Belgium)
  • Runner Up: Chun Zhou (China)

Wide angle- Wrecks:

  • Gold Medal: Mehmet Öztabak (Turkey)
  • Silver Medal: Rene B. Andersen (Denmark)
  • Bronze Medal: Rene B. Andersen (Denmark)

Wide Angle- Natural Light:

  • Gold Medal: Henley Spiers (United Kingdom)
  • Silver Medal: Henley Spiers (United Kingdom)
  • Bronze Medal: Allen Walker (South Africa)
  • Runner Up: Steven Miller (United States)/ Qunyi Zhang (China)

Creative- Manipulated (photoshopped):

  • Gold Medal: Filip Staes (Belgium)
  • Silver Medal: Conor Culver (United States)

Wide angle – Divers:

  • Gold Medal: Leena Roy (United Kingdom)
  • Silver Medal: Wayne Jones (Australia)
  • Bronze Medal: Richard (qingran) Meng (China)

Wide Angle- Marine life:

  • Gold Medal: Daniel Flormann (Germany)
  • Silver Medal: Nick Polanszky (Australia)
  • Bronze Medal: Steven Miller (United States)
  • Runner Up: Richard (qingran) Meng (China)/ Nick Polanszky (Australia)


  • Gold Medal: Claudia Weber-Gebert (Germany)

Temperate waters:

  • Gold Medal: Filip Staes (Belgium)
  • Silver Medal: Filip Staes (Belgium)
  • Bronze Medal: Nick Blake (United Kingdom)
  • Runner Up: Filip Staes (Belgium)

Macro Nudibranchs:

  • Gold Medal: Mehmet Salih Bilal (Turkey)
  • Silver Medal: Julian Hsu (Taiwan)
  • Bronze Medal: Stefaan Haegeman (Belgium)
  • Runner Up: Rudy Janssen (Belgium)

Macro (Super Marco)

  • Gold Medal: Plamena Mileva (Bulgaria
  • Silver Medal: Alvin Cheung (Hong Kong)
  • Bronze Medal: Marylin Batt (United States)
  • Runner Up: Patricia Sinclair (United States)/ Iyad Suleyman (Ukraine)

Wide angle-  Close Focus:

  • Gold Medal: Salvatore Ianniello (Italy)
  • Silver Medal: Nick Polanszky (Australia)
  • Bronze Medal: Plamena Mileva (Bulgaria)
  • Runner Up: Athanassios Lazarides (Norway)

Macro Close Up:

  • Gold Medal: Jinggong Zhang (China)
  • Bronze Medal: Masa Biru (Aruba)


  • Gold Medal: Steven Anderson (United States)
  • Silver Medal: Debbie Wallace (United States)
  • Bronze Medal: Alejandro Topete (Mexico)


  • Gold Medal: Nick Polanszky (Australia)
  • Silver Medal: Plamena Mileva (Bulgaria)
  • Bronze Medal: Filip Staes (Belgium)

You can find out more about the contest here and the winners and their images here.

(Photo credit: Alejandro Topete)

Sam Helmy
Sam Helmy
Sam Helmy is a TDI/SDI Instructor Trainer, and PADI Staff and Trimix Instructor. Diving for 28 years, a dive pro for 14, I have traveled extensively chasing my passion for diving. I am passionate about everything diving, with a keen interest in exploration, Sharks and big stuff, Photography and Decompression theory. Diving is definitely the one and only passion that has stayed with me my whole life! Sam is a Staff Writer for


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.