Monday, December 6, 2021

Scuba Diving Hall Of Fame Announces 2015 Inductees


The International Scuba Diving Hall Of Fame recently announced its 2015 inductees.

The hall’s newest members are Bill High, Captain Wally Muller, Dimitri Rebikof, Dr. Albert Jones, and Peter Hughes.

  • High is being recognized “for his contribution to underwater science, the environment and the development of standards for scuba cylinder inspection and safety.”
  • Muller is being recognized “for his contribution to the development of the live-aboard industry in Australia’s Great Barrier Reef and Coral Sea.”
  • Rebikoff is being recognized “for his contribution to advancement of the diving industry through his design and development of major technological equipment and his literacy work.”
  • Jones is being recognized “for his contribution to the dive community through the development of clubs such as the Underwater Adventure Seekers, the National Association of Black Scuba Divers and his work with students in the marine and environmental fields.”
  • Hughes is being recognized “for his contribution to the innovation of the customer experience in the dive tourism industry, the advancement of the live-aboard market and the protection of the reefs.”

The formal induction ceremony will take place October 2nd in the Cayman Islands.


John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.