Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeScuba DivingWomen Divers Hall Of Fame To Get Six New Inductees

Women Divers Hall Of Fame To Get Six New Inductees

The Women Divers Hall of Fame will induct six new members this year.

The  Class of 2014 includes:

  • Barbara Allen: Pioneer, Instructor, Ocean Advocate
  • Kristine Barsky: Marine Biologist, Environmentalist, Author, Videographer
  • Emma L. Hickerson: Marine Researcher, Science Interpreter, Photographer, Conservationist, Unit Diving Supervisor
  • Jayne Jenkins: Photographer, Educational Non-Profit Leader, Conservationist, Safety Diver
  • Deidre Sullivan: Marine Geologist, Educator, Submersible Diver
  • Tamara Thomsen: Maritime Archaeologist, Shipwreck Conservationist, Instructor

These women will be officially inducted into the WDHOF on March 29  at the Beneath the Sea Awards Banquet in Secaucus, New Jersey.

The non-profit WDHOF was founded in 2000. Its mission is to:

  1. Recognize women divers who have made outstanding contributions to the exploration, understanding, safety and enjoyment of our underwater world and
  2. Support the underwater world and its associated careers by promoting opportunities for women and men in diving through scholarships, internships and mentorship opportunities and a worldwide network of industry contacts.

The organization offers 13 scholarships and training grants every year. For more information, click here:

Welcome to the Women Divers Hall of Fame 2014-01-07 07-41-29

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.