Monday, January 25, 2021

Jill Heinerth Wasn’t The Only NOGI Award Winner This Year


Oscars, Schmoscars.

The *real* awards everyone should be talking about (at least if you’re a scuba diving enthusiast) are the NOGIs.

The Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences (AUAS) recently announced the five 2017 NOGI Award winners.

While we profiled Sports and Education category winner Jill Heinerth here, we’d be remiss for not mentioning the winners in four other separate categories:

DEMA Executive Director Tom Ingram won the Distinguished Service category, marine biologist/ecologist Dr. Gerald Allen won the Science category, underwater cinematographer Chuck Davis won the Arts category, and National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence Dr. Enric Sala won the Environment category.

Hollywood director (and 1999 Arts Award recipient) James Cameron says of the NOGIs:

“Being a recipient of the NOGI is the underwater equivalent of winning an Oscar except a lot harder!”

To learn more about this year’s awardees, check out their biographies here.

Jill Heinerth Wasn't The Only NOGI Award Winner This Year 3
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.