Saturday, July 13, 2024
HomeScuba DivingLatest Members Of The International Scuba Diving Hall Of Fame Announced

Latest Members Of The International Scuba Diving Hall Of Fame Announced

The newest members of the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame have been announced.

The latest entrants were inducted at a gala dinner in the Cayman Islands, and include:

  • Stephen Frink.
  • Dick Rutkowski.
  • H.S. Batuna.
  • Wulf H. Koehler.
  • Boris Porotov.

Alongside the international inductees, the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism also honored 3 local inductees:

  • Wayne Hasson.
  • Daniel Tibbetts.
  • Darryl Bud Walton Jr.

The Early Pioneer Award was given to Captain Philippe Tailliez for his lifetime of contribution to the scuba diving industry.

Speaking at the awards, Moses Kirkconnell, the minister of tourism, said:

“The Cayman Islands’ history with the sport of recreational diving runs deep and wide, making it a natural home to recognise the innovators and dive legacies who have helped shape and affirm our island trio into the leading scuba destination it is today…. Year after year, the ISDHF inducts some of the world’s greatest dive leaders and we are proud to showcase their trailblazing efforts in carrying on the same passion of divers before them, while also enabling our guests to create unforgettable dive memories in the Cayman Islands.”

You can find out more about the new inductees here.

Sam Helmy
Sam Helmy
Sam Helmy is a TDI/SDI Instructor Trainer, and PADI Staff and Trimix Instructor. Diving for 28 years, a dive pro for 14, I have traveled extensively chasing my passion for diving. I am passionate about everything diving, with a keen interest in exploration, Sharks and big stuff, Photography and Decompression theory. Diving is definitely the one and only passion that has stayed with me my whole life! Sam is a Staff Writer for