Thursday, July 25, 2024
HomeFreedivingBFA Announces U.K. Team For 2017 AIDA Depth World Championships

BFA Announces U.K. Team For 2017 AIDA Depth World Championships

The British Freediving Association (BFA) recently announced the members of the U.K. team that will compete later this year in the 2017 AIDA Depth World Championships.

Liv Philip, Helena Bourdillon and Nancy Gibson will constitute the female portion of the team, with Kate Goodwin in reserve. The men will be represented by Michael Board, Dean Chaouche and Carl Atkinson, with Adam Mustoe in reserve.

The association said:

“The BFA congratulates these world-class athletes on their selection to the UK team and wishes them every success. The BFA will share regular training updates on its social media channels from UK team members as they prepare for this landmark competition.”

The competition, held in AIDA‘s 25th anniversary year, will take place in Roatan, Honduras from August 22 to September 3.

Event disciplines will include Free Immersion (FIM), Constant Weight (CWT) and Constant Weight No Fins (CNF).

RELATED: Freediving Disciplines Explained

The U.K. team members were selected based on the highest proven performances in all three disciplines.

Roatan Freediving School & Training Centre, under the direction of Esteban Darhanpé, is organizing the event.

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.