Thursday, October 1, 2020

Italy To Host The 9th CMAS Apnea Indoor World Championship


After the success of the 1st Apnea Outdoor World Championships last year, CMAS has announced that Italy will host the 2016 Apnea Indoor World Championships.  The World Championships will be held in Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy from 6th to the 12th June.

CMAS Freediving Disciplines during the championship will be:

  1. Dynamic Apnea with monofin (DYN)
  2. Dynamic Apnea with bi-fins (DYN BF)
  3. Dynamic Apnea without Fins (DNF)
  4. Static Apnea (STA)
  5. Speed Apnea 100 m
  6. Endurance Apnea 16×50 m

The competition is open to athletes who are at least 14 years old and competing as part of a National Team.  Currently 13 nations have already registered for the event.

Athletes interested in competing should contact their national CMAS affiliate or contact [email protected].

Stephan Whelan
Stephan Whelan
Stephan is the Founder of His passion for the underwater world started at 8 years-old with a try-dive in a hotel pool on holiday that soon formulated into a lifelong love affair with the oceans. In 1996 he set up and helped grow the site to be one of the largest diving websites around today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.