Saturday, December 10, 2022

2022 NOGI Award Winners Announced


The Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences (AUAS) has announced the 2022 recipients of the NOGI Award.

The recipients are:

  • Dr. John Clarke (Science)
  • Jack and Sue Drafahl (Sports/Education)
  • Dr. Albert Jose Jones (Distinguished Service)
  • Harry Rabin (Environment)
  • Adam Ravetch (Arts).

According to AUAS President Dan Orr:

“The NOGI Award is the oldest and most prestigious award in the recreational diving world, recognizing individuals who have made significant career contributions to the sport, the industry and the world in the Arts, the Sciences, the Environment, Sports/Education and through Distinguished Service.”

The 2022 NOGI Awards will be presented this coming November at a gala banquet in Orlando, Florida during the annual DEMA Show.

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.