The Discovery Channel will broadcast live a presentation from the bottom of the Belize Blue Hole this coming weekend.

The presentation will be hosted by Marine Biologist Luke Tipple and will cover the voyage of a submersible to the bottom of the blue hole. Onboard the submersible will be Billionaire Sir Richard Branson and Fabien Cousteau, with Erika Bergman piloting the submersible.

There will be an additional submersible in the water providing additional lighting, which would allow the first crew and viewers at home to see as much as possible from the bottom of the Blue Hole.

The expedition is not just a television stunt; the vessels will carry on exploring the 318m/1,043ft-wide, 124-meter/407-foot-deep Blue Hole for two weeks. The data collected will help create an accurate geographical model of the Blue Hole, and will give scientists around the world the opportunity to study how climate change over the years affected its formation and growth.

The event will be broadcast on Sunday, December 2, 2018, from 4 to 6 p.m. ET/1 to 3 p.m. PT/9pm to 11 pm UTC.

You can check out a video about the event below. For more info, check out the Discovery Channel’s website.

8 COMMENTS

  1. I was excited to watch this and I appreciate the importance of the work being done, but the constant commercials forced me to leave the broadcast. Hopefully Nova or a similar production company will create a more comprehensive and less commercial program sometime in the not too distant future.

  2. I watched the entire show and found that there was entirely too much talk and nothing to see. They talked about seeing a lot of things but didn’t show any of it. Was a waste of what’s and felt highly disappointed.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.