Sunday, April 21, 2024
HomeFreedivingMore Details Released About New Freediving World Series

More Details Released About New Freediving World Series

The folks organizing the Freediving World Series have released more details about how it will be run.

A PDF document outlining the rules and organization of the Freediving World Series has been released. It “provides detailed information on [the] Freediving World Series Event Format and Scoring system to be used in selecting, organizing and measuring the performances of Athletes participating in the 2020 Freediving World Series.

The Freediving World Series is a joint venture project between Vertical Blue and the World Underwater Federation (CMAS). Organizers also hope to have AIDA International join them eventually.

The competition will start off in May with the Caribbean Cup in Honduras, followed by Vertical Blue in the Bahamas in June, then Kalamata, Greece in September, Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt in November and Panglao, Phillipines the following March of 2021.

Regarding the event formats, according to the document:

“For the year 2020, all individual events of the FWS will have one general format, except for Vertical Blue, which will retain the format it has used in previous years.

“For the coming years the FWS Organizational Committee reserves the possibility to change and improve the actual proposed format of any or all of the competitions.”

To download the PDF, go to the CMAS Freediving International Facebook page.

Freediving World Series

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.