Friday, July 19, 2024

PADI’s Drew Richardson Recognized As NOGI Award Winner


Drew Richardson, the CEO and president of PADI, has been named one of the five  Academy of Underwater Arts & Sciences’ 2023 NOGI Award recipients.

The selection of recipients is based on their record of accomplishments in advancing work related to the undersea world.

The NOGI Awards are given out to world-class standouts of the diving community who have distinguished themselves and made a positive impact on diving in one or more of five general categories:

  • Science
  • Arts
  • Sports/Education
  • Environment and
  • Distinguished Service

Richardson’s work was recognized in the Sports and Education award category for his decades-long career and positive influence on diving.

PADI President and CEO - Drew Richardson
PADI President and CEO – Drew Richardson

According to Richardson:

“I have dedicated my life to advancing aquatic exploration, training, safety and conservation for divers and the dive industry. I am honored to be a 2023 NOGI Award recipient.”

Prior recipients include James Cameron, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Bob Ballard, Michelle and Howard Hall, Dr. Tom Neuman, Dr. Enric Sala, astronauts Scott Carpenter and Dr. Michael Gernhart, Lloyd Bridges, Jean-Michel Cousteau and many others.

The NOGI Awards will be given out at the Gala that will take place in conjunction with the 2023 DEMA Show in New Orleans, Louisiana this coming November.

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.