Saturday, July 31, 2021

AIDA “People’s Choice” Award Winners Announced


AIDA International have announced the winners of the 2012 Suunto sponsored “People’s Choice” award. Freedivers from across the globe have cast their votes for their favourite athletes, coaches, judges and volunteers.  Here are the winners for 2012 in all categories:

  • Best Male Freediver – William Trubridge
  • Best Female Freediver – Ilaria Bonin
  • Best Male Newcomer – Rémy Dubern
  • Best Female Newcomer – Tomoka Fukuda
  • Best AIDA Instructor – Karol Meyer
  • Best AIDA Judge – Grant W. Graves
  • Best Safety Diver – Daan Verhoeven
  • Best Coach – Marc Lenoir
  • Best Athletic Sportsmanship – Liv Philip
  • Best AIDA Volunteer – Carla Hanson

    AIDA "People's Choice" Award Winners Announced 1

    Photo © Daan Verhoeven

AIDA "People's Choice" Award Winners Announced 4
Stephan Whelan
Stephan is the Founder of His passion for the underwater world started at 8 years old with a try-dive in a hotel pool on holiday that soon formulated into a lifelong love affair with the oceans. In 1996 he set up and has grown the site to be the most popular diving website and community in the world.