Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeFreedivingTrans-Tasman Team Freediving Competition To Take Place In August

Trans-Tasman Team Freediving Competition To Take Place In August

Looks like freedivers in Australia and New Zealand want to see which of the two Oceania countries is the top freediving dog.

RELATED: Freediving Disciplines Explained

Freediving New Zealand recently announced the inaugural “Trans-Tasman Cup,” a pool-based competition pitting eight of each country’s best freedivers in the Static (STA), Dynamic With Fins (DYN) and Dynamic No Fins (DNF) disciplines.

This event will take place over three days at New Zealand’s National Aquatic Centre in Auckland from August 4 to August 6, 2016.

The Kiwi freedivers participating in T3C will be:

Dave Mullins, Guy Brew, Kathryn Nevatt, Ant Williams, Chris Marshall, Lewis Jones, Tania Routhwaite, and Phil Clayton.

Between them they have held seven World Records and 48 New Zealand National Records.

The Aussie freedivers will be:

Leigh Woolley, Nicole Keating, Brent Warren, Craig de Vos, Anh Tu, Natasha Darke, Andrew Kelly, and Mark Williams.

While some might hold the Australian team as the underdogs, the key to this competition is consistency. The way a freediving competition is scored, it takes just one athlete pushing too far and being disqualified, and the outcome becomes anyone’s guess.

Thursday August 4th will see the STA competition, Friday August 5th will be the DYN discipline, and the DNF category will be contested on Saturday August 6th.

For more info, check out the competition website at

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.