The winners of the 2017 NOGI (New Orleans Grand Isle) awards have been announced.

The awards, which are presented by the Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences, are the oldest and most prestigious awards in the diving industry. They are a lifetime pinnacle for many divers and are considered the Oscars of the diving industry.

This year’s recipients are:

Arts Category: Chuck Davis

Distinguished Service: Tom Ingram

Environment Category: Dr. Enric Sala

Science Category: Dr. Gerry Allen

Sports & Education Category: Jill Heinerth

In addition to the main winners, the Historical Diving Society’s Pioneer Award will be given posthumously to Georges Beuchat for his lifelong contribution to the diving world. Also at the awards, the winner of the 2017 Zale Parry Scholarship will be announced.

For more info, check out the Academy of Underwater Arts and Sciences website at

Get More Articles Like This!

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter and get more interesting stuff like this direct to your email inbox every Friday.

Thanks for subscribing - check your inbox for more info

Ooops - something went wrong

Sam Helmy is a TDI/SDI Instructor Trainer, and PADI Staff and Trimix Instructor. Diving for 28 years, a dive pro for 14, I have traveled extensively chasing my passion for diving. I am passionate about everything diving, with a keen interest in exploration, Sharks and big stuff, Photography and Decompression theory. Diving is definitely the one and only passion that has stayed with me my whole life!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.