Saturday, July 20, 2024

2021 International Ocean Film Festival Kicks Off Next Week; Winners Announced


With the winning entries to the 2021 International Ocean Film Festival recently announced, you’ll be able to see those movies — and many more — beginning April 15th.

The winners include:

DIRECTOR’S AWARD: Whales in a Changing Ocean. Directed by Richard Sidey

CONSERVATION AWARD: Entangled. Directed by David Abel

ENVIRONMENT AWARD: Echoes in the Arctic. Directed by Paul Nicklen, Tahria Sheather & Andy Maser

WILDLIFE AWARD: Ocean Souls. Directed by Philip Hamilton & Scott Wilson

ADVENTURE & OCEAN SPORTS AWARD: Lost At Sea. Directed by Johnny Burke

SHORTS AWARD: Discover Wonder: The Octopus Garden. Directed by John Dutton

COMMUNITY SCIENCE AWARD: Barbara Crites: Snorkeling in St. John USVI. Directed by Andrea Leland

COASTAL CULTURES AWARD: Yáa at Wooné (Respect for All Things). Directed by Kh’asheechtlaa (Louise Brady), Lee House

FIRST TIME FILMMAKER AWARD: dhivara (Way of Life). Directed by Giridhar Nayak K

FIRST TIME FILMMAKER AWARD: Voice Above Water. Directed by Dana Frankoff

The virtual festival runs from April 15th to May 2, 2021.

For more info and to purchase presale tickets, go to or check out the trailer for the festival below.

(Trailer Credit: Yuko Inatsuki)

John Liang
John Liang
John Liang is the News Editor at He first got the diving bug while in High School in Cairo, Egypt, where he earned his PADI Open Water Diver certification in the Red Sea off the Sinai Peninsula. Since then, John has dived in a volcanic lake in Guatemala, among white-tipped sharks off the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica, and other places including a pool in Las Vegas helping to break the world record for the largest underwater press conference.