Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Freediving World`s Absolute Freediver Award 2011

World`s Absolute Freediver Award 2011


Following on from the success of the World’s Absolutely Freediver Award (WAFA) 2010 where Liv Philip (GB) and William Trubridge (NZ) were crowned absolute Freediver Champions, Apnea.cz has announced the 2011 WAFA.

The WAFA is a competition run by Apnea.cz and looks to rank athletes based on their performances across all six freediving disciplines in a given calendar year – Static (STA), Dynamic With Fins (DYN), Dynamic No Fins (DNF), Constant Weight (CWT), Constant Weight No Fins (CNF) and Free Immersion (FIM).  Results from any public competition and official individual record attempts can count towards an athletes standing as well as any Freediving Federation (AIDA, CMAS, FIPSAS, FFESSEM to name a few).  Apnea.cz has stated that they want to remove the barriers between all federations and allow athletes to be judged on ability.

World`s Absolute Freediver Award 2011 1This year the award is being sponsored by Dessault,Scubapro / Uwatec and FreediveShop.cz.

You can see the results of the 2010 WAFA on the Apnea.cz Website

Stephan Whelan
Stephan Whelanhttps://www.deeperblue.com
Stephan is the Founder of DeeperBlue.com. His passion for the underwater world started at 8 years-old with a try-dive in a hotel pool on holiday that soon formulated into a lifelong love affair with the oceans. In 1996 he set up DeeperBlue.com and helped grow the site to be one of the largest diving websites around today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Taking Conservation Action During COVID-19

The Reef-World Foundation -- the international coordinator of the UN Environment Programme's Green Fins initiative -- is calling on the dive industry to keep sustainability high on its agenda during the COVID-19 crisis.

There’s Still Time To Enter Blueforce Fleet’s ‘Keep On Dreaming’ Drawing Contest

Blueforce Liveaboards in the Maldives has launched its "Keep On Dreaming" drawing competition for kids.

Ikelite’s Ambassadors Making Do Amid COVID-19 Lockdown

Ikelaite has released the latest Ambassador Check-In update on its blog.

The Deepest Dive in Antarctica Reveals a Sea Floor Teeming With Life

We take a look at our Video Of The Week - The Deepest Dive in Antarctica Reveals a Sea Floor Teeming With Life

Tektite To Start Making Personal Protective Equipment

Tektite announced that it will be producing face masks and face shields to protect against COVID-19.


World`s Absolute Freediver Award 2011 2